Home Page


Ysgol Gwynedd has three football teams that compete in various competitions within Flintshire throughout the academic year. The teams are managed by Mr Salvoni who also runs the after school football club every Tuesday.


The Year 5/6 football team (pictured above) competes in the local Flint Primary Schools league and also in county tournaments such as the Tom Roberts Knockout Cup, which the school won in 2012.


The Year 5 and below team represents the school in the Ron Bishop Cup and the Year 3/4 team participate in the Elwyn Owen Cup. Both of these cup competitions are played in zones before the winners from each zone battle it out to become county champions.




Flint Area League


Croes Atti  1 v  0  Ysgol Gwynedd


Ysgol Gwynedd   3   v   0   St Mary's


Cornist Park   1   v   1  Ysgol Gwynedd  


Ysgol Gwynedd  1    v   1   Ysgol Croes Atti   TBA


Ysgol Maes Edwin  0   v   10   Ysgol Gwynedd    




Tom Roberts County Cup 2015/16


(1st Round)      Ysgol Gwynedd   3  v  1  Cornist Park

(2nd Round)     Ysgol Gwynedd   2  v  0  St Anthony's (Saltney)

(1/4 Final)        Ysgol Gwynedd  2   v  1  Penarlag

(1/2 Final)        Golftyn     v     Ysgol Gwynedd TBC



Tom Roberts Cup Winners 2012

Tom Roberts Cup Winners 2012 1

Above is a picture of the 2011/12 Ysgol Gwynedd football team who won the Tom Roberts County Knockout Cup, the first time since 1982, when the school shared the Cup with Bodnant Juniors (Prestatyn) after drawing 2-2.


In a competition that started in October 2011, the team progressed to the final beating some very good teams along the way, including :


1st Round - Rector Drew (Won 3-1)

2nd Round - Ven. Edward Morgan (Won 6-0)

Quarter Final - Broughton CP (Won 3-2)

Semi Final - Mountain Lane (Won 3-0)


In the final, Ysgol Gwynedd faced a very talented team in Wepre CP in a game that was played at Cornist Park CP.


Afer going behind to 2 early goals, Ysgol Gwynedd managed to level the scores at the break.  Led by Dylan Levitt Ysgol Gwynedd went on and scored 2 further goals to eventually win the cup 4-2.



Fflint and Maelor Urdd Winners 2009

Fflint and Maelor Urdd Winners 2009 1